Empire of the Sun – Ice On The Dune

iceonthedune-0617-1371490755

Release date: June 14th 2013

When I first discovered Empire of the Sun in 2008 they had just released their debut album Walking on a Dream. I remember the love-hate relationship kind of thing I had for the album. The first four songs absolutely blowing me away and then the rest of the album that I just somehow couldn’t stand. It was like a sudden twist.

Now five years later their follow up Ice on the Dune has gone to a whole other level! I liked it from beginning to end. They managed to keep that upbeat, summer feeling throughout the album. That’s what I like the most about the band, how their music just reminds me of vacations, trips through Europe, sun, sunset, sunrise and staying up all night….and all that corny stuff! While their first album was very home-made their follow up is obviously more stadium-scaled and it’s such a shame they’re not a part of the Rock Werchter line-up for 2014. I wouldn’t have thought twice to go see them.

My favorite song on the album is DNA. It literally gives me butterflies and makes me want to start dancing on the spot!  I’d also name songs like Alive and Old Favours for that kind of feeling. For the down-beat I’d say I’ll Be Around. My least favorite though is the last on the album Keep a Watch but at the time I get there I will be in such a good mood so it really doesn’t matter.

Check out their powerful song DNA, not to mention their glamorous looks and costumes!

Leave a comment